University of Surrey Institute of Advanced Studies

University of Surrey


Pulsations in Intermediate-mass, Massive and/or Multiple Stars



Venue: University of Surrey, UK


This breakthrough international workshop will pioneer the potential of asteroseismology in the analysis of binary stars. It will connect experts in these fields to forge new approaches and techniques that build on the wealth of data delivered by 21st-century astronomical missions like Corot, Kepler, TESS and BRITE, and advanced stellar evolution modelling. Binary systems are rarely investigated using asteroseismology because they are difficult to interpret and understand. Yet binaries are half of all stars and their key properties, such as rotation and tides, make it possible to extract far more from observations and reach a far more complete understanding of the complex evolution of interacting stars. This workshop will include informal presentations and ample time for interaction, aiming to establish new collaborations and develop binary-star seismology as a new, vital field of research.



Dr Onno Pols, Radboud University Nijmegen

Dr Charlotte Gehan, University of Porto

Dr Dominic Bowman, KU Leuven

Dr Andrea Miglio, University of Birmingham

Dr Pierre Maxted, Keele University

Dr Arnau Rois-Huguet, University of Surrey



Arman Aryaeipour, University of Surrey (UK)
Dominic Bowman,  KU Leuven (Belgium)
Gael Buldgen, Observatoire de Geneve (Switzerland)
Charlotte Gehan, Instituto de Astrofísica e Ciências do Espaço, Universidade do Porto (Portugal)
Zhao Guo, Penn State (USA)
Robert Izzard, University of Surrey (UK)
David Hendriks    University of Surrey (UK)
Simon Jeffery, Armagh Observatory (UK) and Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
Yunpeng Li, University of Surrey (UK)
Gavin Lotay, University of Surrey (UK)
Pierre Maxted, Keele University (UK)
Andrea Miglio, University of Birmingham (UK)
Giovanni Mirouh, University of Surrey (UK)
Gordon Ogilvie, University of Cambridge (UK)
Onno Pols, Radboud University Nijmegen (Netherlands)
Holly Preece, Max-Planck-Institut for Astrophysics (Germany)
Hiromoto Shibahashi, University of Tokyo (Japan)
Richard Stancliffe, Hull University (UK)
Gregor Traven, Lund Observatory (Sweden)



Dr Giovanni Mirouh



Dr. Giovanni Mirouh, University of Surrey

Dr. Robert Izzard, University of Surrey

Mr. David Hendriks, University of Surrey

Dr. Andrea Miglio, University of Birmingham