The Advisory Board

‚ÄčThe Institutes Advisory Board is composed of the University's Distinguished Professors,  representatives of the three Faculties (Associate Deans for Research and Enterprise) and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation). The Board advises on the strategy of the Institute and reviews and recommends which bids should be funded in the annual competition.

Senior Vice-President (Global Strategy)

Professor Vince Emery


Faculty Representatives

Associate Deans for Research and Enterprise

Professor Sabine Brown
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Professor Monique Raats
Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences
Professor Steve Schneider
Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences


Distinguished Professors

The Distinguished Professors at the University of Surrey are recognised as leading figures in their fields and have demonstrated academic excellence at an international level as well as in professional organisations and committees in their discipline. They have also made major contributions to the leadership of the University.

The Distinguished Professors are:

portrait of Alf Adams

Alf Adams

Group leader, ODM
FRS, PhD, DSc (Leicester), CPhys, FlnstP, FIEEE, CEng


portrait of Roland Clift

Roland Clift



Portrait of Greville Corbett

Greville Corbett

BA, MA, PhD (University of Birmingham) FBA, AcSS


Portrait of Bill Gelletly

William Gelletly

OBE, PhD (Edinburgh), CPhys, FlnstP


Portrait of Josef Kittler

Josef Kittler

BA, PhD (Cambridge), ScD


portrait of Jim Lynch

Jim Lynch

OBE, BTech, PhD, DSc, CSci, CChem, FRSC, CBiol, FSB, FIBiotech, FRSA


portrait of Professor Sir Martin Sweeting

Martin Sweeting



External member

Stephen Windsor-Lewis, MA (Cantab)

Head of Communications, Europe, Middle East & Africa (EMEA)

The Linde Group. Surrey Research Park